Pasta Salad with Cilantro Shallot Dressing

It’s hot out. I love it, but it’s true. And when it’s hot, I like to eat food that is not. Pasta salad is one of my favorite meals – sometimes I’ll be eating pasta salad for lunch for like 5 days in a row. So I’ve been looking at a lot of summer salad and pasta recipes online lately and nothing feeds cooking inspiration like an empty fridge, so off to the market I went. And here’s what I came up with: lots of fresh veggies with a cilantro and shallot dressing (which I borrowed from the corn relish from the Calabaza Soup recipe I posted back when a hot soup was an essential part of my diet).

You could totally change/substitute the veggies I’ve used for any you prefer, but this is a good combo that’s readily available in the summa time.

First, mix the dressing so that it has plenty of time to get good flavors going. One shallot, finely chopped (about 2 tablespoon); fresh cilantro, also finely chopped (about 2 tablespoons); 1/4 teaspoon of salt; a pinch of sugar (or a dollop of honey); about 3 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice; and last but not least, about 3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil. Mix all of this together and let it sit while you prepare the salad.

Also, while you prepare the salad you should get a pot of water boiling for the pasta.

Now for the salad. First, cucumber: about 1/2 of a cucumber, peeled and cut into 1cm square cubes.

Then, one avocado.

Then, some cherry tomatoes, quartered.

Next, cheese. I used a fresh cheese that I’m not sure I’ve seen outside of Spain, but it’s very mild and very soft. Maybe a fresh mozzarella would be a good substitute, or even a soft goat cheese. You could even go a creamier route and use ricotta.

And, corn (a small can, well drained). I love corn in salads… It’s a fact.

Next, some arugula. I love the peppery taste arugula gives salads, but you could also use mixed baby greens or baby spinach too. And last but not least, the cooked pasta. This was one cup, uncooked.

Right before you’re ready to eat, toss it with the dressing. I made this for two people, though my proportions got away from me a little bit, so probably 3 people could have eaten this… Anyway, the point is, adjust your proportions of veggies and pasta according to how many people you’re making it for.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Pasta Salad with Cilantro Shallot Dressing

Leave a Reply

