Lemon Squares

I’m officially in “summer mode”. Classes are winding down and I only have to work a few hours each afternoon. I’m at the point where I have to remind myself several times a day to remember that I have to go to work. So today after sleeping in, having a leisurely breakfast, going for a run, and still finding myself with nothing in particular to do, I felt like baking something. Only problem: I really did not feel like going out to the store – you know how that is, right? After a quick look in the pantry and the discovery of a whole lemon and some butter in the fridge (two things I rarely have!), I confirmed that, yes, I did have all the ingredients necessary to make some Lemon Squares!

The first step is to mix 3 tablespoons of unsalted butter with 1/4 cup of sugar – use a fork or a mixer – until they are creamed together. Then add 1 cup of flour little by little. I used half whole-wheat and half all-purpose, not for any other reason than that I didn’t have enough left of either type to do all one (seriously, summer mode). Keep mixing these with a fork or mixer until it looks like fine crumbs, but still holds together when you pinch it. Spread this mixture into the bottom of a lightly greased pan – the recipe called for a square 8in x 8in, but I used a rectangular one and just reduced baking time a bit. Press it down and bake at 350 ºF (or 176 ºC) for 13 minutes.

You have to let this cool before pouring in the topping, so while you wait you can make that. First, beat 3 large eggs until they get frothy.

Then, add 3/4 cup of sugar, 2 teaspoons of lemon zest, 1/3 cup of lemon juice (this is approximately the entire zest and all of the juice of one large lemon – good thing, because that is all I had!), 3 tablespoons of flour, 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder, and 1/8 teaspoon salt. Mix together well and when the crust has cooled, pour it over the top and bake at the same temperature for 20 to 25 minutes, until it’s set.

Once the Lemon Squares are cool, sprinkle them with 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar and cut into 15 squares.

So, these are delicious. Like really, really delicious. And I was excited about them because they are only 120 calories each, but now I’ve eaten two already! These are not going to last long…

Anyway, I love lemon desserts in the summer, so this is a winner!

Ingredient List:

Crust:

  • 3 tablespoons of unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 1 cup of flour

Topping:

  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons lemon zest
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons powdered sugar

*Recipe from Cooking Light (link)

3 thoughts on “Lemon Squares

  1. So I genuinely thought lemon squares would be harder to make… seriously I don’t think I’ve ever NOT bought the box kind! But these look totally do-able! Definitely making these tomorrow!

    • Do it! They are super easy! Also, I love desserts that can be made with a bowl and a fork-no mess to clean up after (which, after checking out your blog, seems like it might be helpful!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

