Homemade Raviolis: Caramelized Shallots, Mushrooms, Goat Cheese

I thought you could only make fresh pasta if you had one of those fancy machines…or some kind of attachment for another fancy machine. I have none of those things unfortunately, so when Cooks Illustrated sent me a weekly newsletter entitled “Fresh Pasta Without a Machine”, I was like, oh, ok!

I knew this would be a “weekend recipe” when I read that after mixing the dough you have to let it rest for 1-4 hours… So, I let the week fly by, while I dreamed up my ravioli creation. And when Sunday finally arrived, it went a little something like this:

Start with 1 egg and 3 egg yolks whisked together with, 1 tablespoon of olive oil, and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Then add 1 cup of all purpose flour and mix well. The dough should end up a little sticky but not so much that it sticks onto your fingers – I believe “tacky” is the word.

Lightly flour the work surface and knead until the dough is smooth. You might have to add a little more flour if it’s too sticky. Roll it up into a little log shape and cover it with plastic wrap. This has to rest, like I said, for 1 – 4 hours, so I made it in the morning and then went about my life until about an hour before lunch.

The dough doesn’t rise or change in any visible way, however, according to Cooks Illustrated the resting makes the dough less elastic, so rolling it out is easier because it won’t shrink back. Without really understanding the chemistry of the “why?”, it’s true – I poked it before and after to see for myself. Probably has something to do with gluten and whatnot…

Next, I made the filling. I started by caramelizing 4 thinly sliced shallots in a little bit of olive oil in one pan and in another sautéing some garlic and sliced mushrooms.

When I finished cooking, I removed the garlic, chopped the shallots and mushrooms together, and then began on the ricotta mixture.

I used 1 cup of ricotta and about 1/2 cup of goat cheese (the kind that comes in a roll). I used an immersion blender to make a smooth mixture to which I added the mushroom and shallot mixture, as well as 1/4 cup of chopped toasted walnuts, a teaspoon of honey, and a couple of pinches of salt to taste.

At this point I realized that this could also be a delicious spread for crackers or on bread… In fact, that’s exactly what I did with the leftover filling that didn’t fit in my raviolis.

Now it’s time to roll – get that dough and divide the log into 3 equal pieces. Start with the first, stretch it in your hands into a 3×3 inch square. Then use a rolling pin, rolling out from the center, to make a big, super thin rectangle. It should be so thin you can see the outline of your fingers through it (or in my case, that fabulous black and white marble I’ve got in my kitchen). As you roll it, be sure to lift it from the surface to be sure it’s not sticking – dust more flour on it if it is.

At this point, you have 3 sheets like this and you could choose to cut this into fetuccini or form some shaped pastas if you prefer. I cut it in half and then into squares about 3×3 inches (kind of big raviolis, but I really didn’t feel like spending the next 15 years of my life filling tiny raviolis…)

Fill a little bowl with water and use your finger to wet the edges on both the top and bottom squares. Then put a little spoonful, about 1 tablespoon, of the filling in the center and put the top over it, sealing the edges with your fingers and trying to not let any of the filling escape. Don’t over fill them or else the filling will get everywhere and you’ll get irritated and end up scratching the whole thing and eating the filling with a spoon…

The 3 sheets made about 15 raviolis in the end, which I would say is perfect for 3 people (you could serve it with a small salad and make a nice dinner of it). Also, see what I’ve done here, arranging them nicely on a plate? Don’t do this! Lay them separately on a towel or tray, but don’t overlap them – they are moist and WILL stick together and when you unstick them, if you don’t do it super incredibly carefully, they WILL rip open and you WILL cry. Learn from my mistakes, friends.

Give them a minute to seal well while you bring a big pot of water to a boil. Gently drop them in, one by one, and let them cook for 3-4 minutes. If you do more than 15, you might need to do them in batches so they don’t stick.

I didn’t want a sauce that would cover up the flavor too much of the filling, so I just heated some cream in a pan with some chopped basil and a bit of salt (to taste) to make a light basil infused cream. Once the raviolis are cooked, I added them to the pan and tossed them until the were coated. If the sauce get’s too thin, just let them all cook there for a minute or two until the sauce thickens a bit.

Ridiculously delicious…

So, feel free to fill them with whatever your little heart desires. Or don’t fill them, cut them into strips and make a nice bolognese or a carbonara. Or what about leaving them whole for lasagna… While making raviolis are a bit of a labor of love because you have to fill them and close them all, actually making the dough took all of 10 minutes (resting period aside) and rolling them about another 10, so I think I’ll be making fresh pasta again!

Here’s the ingredient list and a link to the fresh pasta recipe (they have good trouble shooting tips and demos of how to make bow-ties and other fun stuff!)

Pasta:

  • 1 egg plus 3 egg yolks
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup all purpose flour

Filling:

  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup goat cheese
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, toasted and finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 4 shallots, finely sliced
  • 8 mushrooms (small), thinly sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • salt to taste

Sauce:

  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 5-6 basil leaves, sliced
  • salt to taste

*Fresh Pasta without a Machine: Cooks Illustrated (link)

4 thoughts on “Homemade Raviolis: Caramelized Shallots, Mushrooms, Goat Cheese

  1. Ninette says:

    I’m so excited with this recipe! I wish I had as much counter space as you. I’m going to try it! Thank you for sharing! Love your posts!!! Miss you!

  2. Caitlin says:

    i definitely laughed out loud at some points – i think i made all the mistakes you mentioned when i made raviolis. You’ve inspired me to give it another try though!! This looks so good!

Leave a Reply

