Whole Wheat Pizza

I’m a bit delirious today. Monday there was a high of 55 degrees and from Tuesday on it’s been 85 degrees by noon. I’m never one to complain about hot weather, but when you’ve spent the last six months desperately trying to stay warm, 65 feels like a day at the beach, so this is turning my brain to mush. Sorry spring jackets, I guess you’ll have to hang out and wait until fall… Now, with my tinto de verano in hand, aka cheap red wine and seltzer water over lots of ice, I will tell you about my latest culinary creation.

So, pizza. It’s my favorite. Especially homemade pizza. I can’t get enough of it. And since I got my hands on some yeast (finally! I had been looking for it everywhere!) and some whole wheat flour (see my post about Whole Wheat Cinnamon Bread), I have been excited to try incorporating it into some other meals. Granted, this only makes pizza marginally healthier, it’s definitely better for you than Dominos (which I also eat a lot of because my boyfriend currently delivers their pizzas…I’ve never seen anyone more excited to finish college…)

Anyway, here’s Whole Wheat Pizza and an attempt to use up all the odds and ends in the fridge.

It starts with 1/2 cup of warm water with 1/2 tablespoon of sugar and 1 and 1/8 teaspoons of active dry yeast. Mix these gently in a large bowl and let them sit for about 10 minutes until the yeast starts to get frothy (that’s how you know it’s working!)

To this, add 1 tablespoon of olive oil, 1 teaspoon of salt, and 1/2 of the flour, which is 3/4 cup. Mix this up until it’s fully incorporated.

Now, little by little, add the remaining 3/4 cup of flour until the dough is slightly sticky, but it doesn’t get stuck to your fingers. If you are lucky, you have a big ass mixer that will do all this for you, but if not, you’ll burn some calories so you can eat more pizza! Yay!

Once you’re at that point, put it on a floured work surface and get ready to knead.

Knead for about 6 minutes, until the dough gets elastic. It will easily form a smooth ball when it’s ready.

You can just see all that whole wheaty-ness! Now this little guy goes into a lightly greased bowl, covered with plastic wrap, and placed in a warm corner of your kitchen for 1 hour or so, until it doubles in size.

Yeah, that’ll do it…

Now, get your oven preheating up as high as it will go. Mine goes up to 220 C (425 F). If you have a pizza stone, more power to ya. Since conventional ovens don’t heat up as high as the professional ones do, I use a trick I learned from my mom – I bake the crust by itself for a few minutes and then add the toppings and pop it back in to finish it off. This guarantees that the bottom won’t get soggy or be uncooked.

So, spread it out onto a baking dish to the thickness you prefer (I like mine thin thin thin) and put it in the oven for 7-8 minutes, until you start to see it get golden brown in some places.

Now for the toppings, which I leave to your imagination. Here’s my medley of veggies and even a sliced up turkey hotdog (yeah, I know, but I just had one left over from one of those “nostalgic” meals and I didn’t know when I would use it).

A little tomato sauce, some grated cheese, and on they go!

Voila!

Another day we can talk about creative toppings. But, when I am feeling uninspired and want a pizza that’s out of the ordinary, I like to go onto The Cheese Board in Berkeley or Arizmendi Bakery in Emeryville‘s websites – they post a calendar of their pizzas (they make one unique one per day with all seasonal local ingredients) for some good ideas. Back in the day, when I was fortunate to have Berkeley’s amazing food all around me, I quite enjoyed their pizza and I make it a point to visit when I’m up there (or is it out…or over…I’m not sure anymore).

I’m getting confused with prepositions, so I’ll just stop and give you the ingredient list:

Makes one 12 inch pizza:

  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1/2 tablespoon sugar (or honey)
  • 1 & 1/8 teaspoon dry active yeast
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 & 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (divided)

Until next time, au revoir! (I’m learning French…)

Leave a Reply

