Kanelsnegle, Drømmekage, Hindbærsnitter and Other Danish Things

I spent last weekend strolling the streets of Copenhagen and eating delicious Danish pastries. Sometimes living in Europe is just. so. awesome. A good friend of mine is living there while he studies a masters, so I had to take advantage of a personal tour guide. Aside from a small hiccup in the form of a nationwide strike in Spain, planned coincidentally on the very day I was to fly, delaying my flight slightly, it was a fabulous weekend with unusually wonderful weather for this time of year. This is a picture of Nyhavn, probably one of Copenhagen’s most recognizable landmarks. Now thats enough of that, this is a food blog after all. On to pastries…

There are a lot of these store fronts in Copenhagen with these amazing, unpronounceable names. They all vary slightly, but there are some pastries that can be found in all of them. Like these:

This is Kanelsnegle – it’s like a cinnamon roll made with puff pastry instead of dough. I think this is my favorite. I mean, cinnamon and brown sugar? What is better? Oh, add frosting? Ok, now it’s perfect. BTW, Americans, I know this looks like very little frosting for our cinnabun tastes, but actually it was a very dense and very sweet frosting, so it was absolutely perfect. One thing that became clear to me after trying a couple of these things is that Danes like their pastries very sweet – which is just fine with me! Next stop:

This lovely morsel is Hindbærsnitter. “Hindbær” means raspberry, which is what the jam filling is made of. Yum! My friend tells me he does not know what “snitter” means, and google translator tells me it’s either “chips” or “chopper”, so…I’m equally at a loss. Anyway, it’s really not important. He called this a “gourmet poptart” which is a pretty accurate description, but doesn’t really do it justice. The cookie is similar to very soft shortbread and the frosting is the same one they used on the cinnamon roll above. Very sweet and very delicious. Seriously, I don’t know how my dear friend has not gained 100 pounds… Last, but certainly not least:

This is Drømmekage, which means “dream cake”. How very appropriate. Now, I actually made this one from a box mix when I got back home – I brought it as a little gift to my boyfriend who I left behind at home all by his lonesome. I didn’t actually get to try this dream cake while I was in Copenhagen because in between pastries there was beer to be drunk and friends to be met (life can’t just be strolling and pastry eating!) so I picked up this mix at the local grocery store.  And after copiously entering all of the baking instructions into google translator in order to figure out what the heck I was supposed to do, I came up with this (and this was gone within 2 days…) Number one was mixed with water and butter and looks and tastes similar to vanilla cake. Then Number Two was mixed with a tad more butter and water and spread over the top for the last 5 minutes of baking. It’s a mixture of cinnamon, brown sugar, and coconut.

So that was Copenhagen in three sweet treats. It was a great weekend in a beautiful city and I thank him for showing me such a good time and all of his Danish friends for being so welcoming. Next time, maybe I’ll have a bigger budget and we can try these Michelin star restaurants, but in the meantime, wandering around on a sugar high works for me!

Here are a few more pics from the weekend. All very “hyggelig” – which is pronounced like “hoogily” – meaning “cozy”, but it’s used to describe a lot of situations and feelings, like for example having a glass of wine on a sunny day next to a beautiful lake. New favorite word.

One thought on “Kanelsnegle, Drømmekage, Hindbærsnitter and Other Danish Things

Leave a Reply

