Chicken Curry with Cashews and Cous Cous

I’m home from work, drinking a glass of red wine, and watching Fight Club on T.V. thinking about how neglected my blog has been this week. The cooking has been done (so has the eating) and the picture have been taken, but I have yet to share the deliciousness that is Chicken Curry (how?!). Unfortunately, my dog has other plans for me, so with an arsenal of toys to throw across the room every time he gets particularly demanding of my attention, I prepare to write about one of my specialties. I think I can call it that… It’s kind of my own recipe. I mean I learned the concept somewhere along the line, but this is how I make it and it’s one of those things I’ve perfected over time.

It starts out with one medium onion, 2 shallots all chopped up – it’s about a cup – and 2 cloves of garlic (which I leave whole so that I can remove them later, but then again I do this with every recipe because I really don’t like eating garlic even though I like the taste it adds to food). Anyway, back to curry: I add this to 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. I start to cook this slowly while I wash, dry and cut one pound of boneless, skinless chicken breasts into one-inch cubes. Once the onions are translucent, about 5 minutes, add the chicken, a teaspoon of salt and 2 tablespoons of curry powder. Curry powder on its own isn’t really very spicy, so I also add 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper – add more or less depending on your preferences.

Stir this mixture every minute or so until the chicken is almost fully cooked, about 5 more minutes. Then add a whole can of unsweetened coconut milk, one cup of chicken broth, and 3/4 cup of roasted, unsalted cashews. Unsalted is best so that it doesn’t make your curry too salty, since you can’t really control the amount of salt on the cashews. Bring this mixture to a simmer and keep it on low heat simmering, uncovered for about 20 minutes until the sauce thickens a bit.

This is how it looks when it’s done. Take it off the heat and in a small saucepan boil one cup of chicken broth and 1/4 cup of rasins. When it comes to a boil take it off the heat, add one cup of cous cous, stir and cover immediately. In about 10 minutes, take the cover off and fluff the cous cous with a fork.

Serve one cup of cooked cous cous into a shallow bowl and spoon the Chicken Curry over it. This recipe makes 4 servings and curry is twice as good the next day…just sayin’.

Here’s an ingredient list:

Curry:

  • one medium onion, finely chopped
  • two shallots, finely chopped
  • two cloves of garlic
  • one pound of boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into one-inch cubes
  • 2 tablespoons curry powder
  • one teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • one can of unsweetned coconut milk
  • one cup chicken broth
  • 3/4 cup unsalted, roasted cashews

Cous Cous:

  • one cup cous cous
  • one cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup rasins
Leave a Reply

