The Spanish Tortilla

Ah, the Spanish Tortilla… So simple, yet, it’s kind of tricky. And I can’t call myself “Spanish” until it’s been mastered. I think I have finally gotten the ratio for a consistent tortilla.

To make this tortilla, which serves 3-4 people (or more if it’s served as an app. along with other things), I used 2 large potatoes, 1 medium onion, 3 large eggs and 1 teaspoon of salt. Now that you know this, it’s going to be super easy, trust me.

First, peel and thinly slice the potatoes and onions. In the end, you’ll never see the shape of the slices, so if it’s easier for you to cut the potato and onion in half so you have a flat surface to slice on, do it (that’s easier for me, anyway). If you have a mandolin, bust it out.

In a large pan, heat about a quarter inch of olive oil over medium heat. Add all the sliced potato and onion. I prefer not to add any salt at this point because I save olive oil that I just use to fry potatoes for use again later, so I want to know it isn’t going to make the next thing I make overly salty. You’re going to need to flip these over every 5 minutes or so until they are nice and soft.

This needs to turn into…

This.

It’s probably a good time to get a glass of wine because this is the part where the love is made. The potatoes need to cook slowly so they become soft, but a little bit chewy around the edges and the onion needs to be nice and soft too. It’s going to take about 20 minutes.

Other than sip on that glass of wine, you also need to beat 3 large eggs in a large bowl and add one teaspoon of salt to that.

Once your potato/onion mixture is soft, use a slotted spatula to drain and take the potatoes out of the oil, leaving as much oil behind as possible, and add them to the eggs. Mix the potato/onion mixture with the eggs.

To actually make the tortilla, I use a smaller pan so that it will be thicker. So, once the mix is made, I lightly oil (just enough to coat) the pan and pour the egg/potato/onion mix into the pan and spread it so its even in the pan. This needs to cook over medium-low for about 5 minutes. When you see that the egg pulls away from the edge, it’s time to flip. Put a large plate over the top of the pan, place your hand flat on top of the plate and flip. Put the pan down and slide the tortilla back into the pan and cook the other side for another 5 minutes. I prefer that the egg be a little less done, so I take it out quickly, but that’s up to you.

There you go, that’s all there is to it!

2 thoughts on “The Spanish Tortilla

Leave a Reply

